Its a book’s life

Three years ago when I moved to cape town I couldn’t bare parting with my book collection. Where I go, my books go. They can be likened to my clothes they clothe my soul they are very much apart of me and who I am. And the journey of thought that has led me to the person I am today.

Every move my books move with me. My moves which now stands at no5 in three years. A figure I am most proud of. I was hoping to reach ten before five years (another theory I will not get into now) but which has been altered due to the mad love I feel for my existing place of residence.

Now considering the fact I don’t plan on moving for a very long time its ironic that my view of my book collection should change at such a time.

Two opposing thoughts. One takes you back to sandy of a year ago. I had met a very interesting gentleman. Randomly this man made his way into the art gallery I was running at this time. Hands down one of the most special conversations I had the pleasure to share with a complete stranger. He said something which I loved so much.
– When someone walks into his home, into his space and comes across his books; they instantly learn so much about him and the person he is. As well as his interests and way of thinking.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago and meet the older and wiser sandy whom after reading a
Paulo Coelho write up on books changed her tune 360 degrees. (I do enjoy referring to my myself in third person)

Anyways Mr Coelho who is not only an incredible writer but a gifted philosopher as well, basically wrote that books have a life and that leaving them on a shelf is not the intended life of a book. I liked that very much and agree with it completely it almost seems unfair to keep my books hostage. Don’t get me wrong I have many I will never part with and which I will read and reread a million times over. But the others deserve to carry on, on their journeys until someone feels so strongly about them they will never think even for a second about parting with them.

My grandfather had a majestic book collection, a whole room with shelves build into the walls just decorated with books. I love this but at the same time I will have to spend my life time collecting just the right books to adore my book room with only my favorites.

Leave a comment