Life granting us credibility

I have in my years experienced many different sides to life. Today as It has many times before, the question was raised as to what gives us credibility to speak of the things we know or think we know for arguments sake.

I spend three years of my four years at varsity battling with my philosophy teachers. I had my own theories on everything, I was almost insulted that my views could not be added into my arguments. Why did I think than I had the credibility that takes many people a life time to achieve. Why did I think I could speak of things from how I understood them to be at that moment.

It was only years later that I finally understood exactly what my teachers were trying to tell me. Respect for tradition is key. How can one move forward without having gone backwards first. This is why I have since than and until this day had a deep respect for tradition.

Many people experience something bad and than go around speaking of it (for money of course) Does there have to be a line from which they must have crossed in order to take up this position as teacher or maybe even a role model to others. What if this person has not an ethical bone in their body have they still something to teach.

Perhaps we are all students and teachers, I just feel that although I have spent many years researching life I am far from writing my book maybe I need a life time of research to gain some credibility or would my book still be held in the highest regard if I were to write it on life thus far?

Leave a comment