And so I cried

This was written awhile ago and not posted. I feel it shares too much. But of late I have been thinking about how people don’t notice sadness in each other even in those close to them, perhaps everyone is too busy living. It is important to recognize and not just in the people we know. Connecting to people is what makes life full and happy, it is what makes us human.

I was listening to a talk on Ted Talks about how to live to be a 100 ( http://www.ted.com/talks/dan_buettner_how_to_live_to_be_100.html )

The people who live to be the oldest in the world are those with close friends around them and a tight family. They place value in the people around them. They are also connected to nature.

Onwards to my story.

I sat in the new manager’s office and I cried. I don’t know who was more surprised by my tears him or me but there I was crying. He passed me a tissue, I laughed nervously. I was never close to the guy. I saw him for a matter of minutes every week for the past two years. We never discussed anything serious or real, only work. I never saw behind that smile. I guess I never knew him well enough to see any of those signs.

He killed himself.

What sits with me the most is how I never saw the sadness and looking back it was clearly there.

I am not saying I could of changed anything.

We never know how our actions affect others. If we can make another’s life that little bit easier this is what we should strive to do. Connecting with others is that which makes our lives happier and full. We should never look away from someone’s pain.

2 thoughts on “And so I cried

  1. Have you ever read The Unbearable Lightness of Being?

    Highly recommend it. Deals with “never knowing how our actions affect others” in a very interesting way. That book changed my life. Give it a go 🙂

Leave a comment