sandwich thief

The years have been unkind to her, in her youth she never thought of a time she would be unable to trust her body and for that she now suffers.
The room fills and empties and again I am sitting here alone, sitting on my tongue sitting on my impatience.

The older man who sat here before eyed out the tray of sandwiches as he walked in. The dealership where my car is being serviced, kindly trying to buy the patience of their customers. By the time sandwich thief leaves three empty spaces are visible. Twice I watched him very subtlety, yet at a fast pace move in, the third time; he was lurking in the darkness and waited the right moment to bounce, I never saw him swoop in.

Another guy breathes deeply I feel his anxiety, like the rest of us he would rather not be here. His cap backwards a contradiction to the bag he is carrying, which is that of a man of business.

Time served is over back to the world where one must pay for ones own sandwiches. I didn’t indulge just for the record.

Leave a comment