Half assed

Something happened a few days back that left its mark on me. Apart of me that has been sleeping for sometime was awakened. So caught up in my daily existence I haven’t found the time to read, to write, to battle the endless list of questions that life presents me with..

Such events were perfectly described by my new friend as magical and I realized that magical days are long and far between.

Two years back I was reading a book about the art of conversation, the book speaks of normal day to day run of the mill conversation that everyone encounters. Along with the deep and meaningful stuff that we walk away from feeling lighter perhaps even motivated and if we are lucky somewhat altered. This ‘magical’ conversation is what we all need without it we are somewhat lost and empty.

It’s so easy to find that in the time we live in, in-depth conversations like these are very rare. Even on my morning walk I noticed so many people on their cell phones.

Unfortunately we are never really where we are, we are always elsewhere. On our bbm, our e-mail, our facebook, our twitter, our skype… If there was ever such a thing as being to available, too much in contact with the world- than that is how we have become.

The days of interpersonal communication are taking a back seat; interactions like I was lucky enough to have the other day will be further between.

I have had my cell phone off all morning, this is my attempt to be where I am, but I guess it’s a half ass attempt as at this moment my blog is open to write this, along with my e-mail…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Half assed

Leave a comment